The Lemtrada diary. 

Cats, Lemtrada, Medication, MS, Multiple Sclerosis, Snazzy pyjamas

Hey folks! Alright? You thought I’d gone, didn’t you? Were you upset, distraught, bereft? Say yes. I simply couldn’t bear it if I believed that you didn’t notice my absence. Say you did. Tell me you still care. You still love me? As I love you and will for all eternity! Too much? O my dears. Here I am. Ready? Let us get this ‘party’ ‘started’. 

  
Day zero

My treatment, provisionally, was scheduled for Monday. Alas, I was unable to secure a bed until yesterday – Thursday. Twas but no room at the inn. If you get me. But, rejoice! O frabjous day! Callooh! Callay! In the evening I made my tentative arrival. I sat on my bed and dispatched my parents to get coffee or something so I could get some ‘me time’, unpack, appear to be an actual capable adult etc. Although acknowledged, I wasn’t admitted for some time. My uxurious (!) D arrived post Mum & Dad leaving and we dined together at the hospital restaurant. The romance! I’m pretty sure D swooned. He’d had a busy day. Fast forward. Skip the boring bits. Rather the even more boring bits. Sleep difficult. Man shouting for help for extended period through night. Person in next bed intermittently annoyingly snoring. Gar! Doctor approaches bed wielding small torch at midnight. I’ve started to drift into proper sleep and answer his questions confusedly. 

Day one

I wake early. Everything happens early. Correction. Some things happen early. I’m given an antiviral tablet.  I fall asleep to my audiobook. I’m woken all startled and starry eyed like.  Bed sheets are changed. A cannula is inserted by a lovely nurse. We talk about tattoos (she shows me pictures on her phone); being a public sector worker under the Tories (*spits*); the similarity of experience for teachers and nurses – bureaucracy, low morale; me. This must mean it’s all happening! I text a picture to, hmm, people – so they can see I’m all ready. I wait. 

And wait

Wait a bit more. 

Read a novel. Really. The whole of one! A Disorder Peculiar to the Country.  As seen on Catastrophe and listed as one of Sharon Horgan’s cultural highlights in the Observer. I’m nothing if not predictable. It’s good. Check it out.   

Ate hospital food. I was expecting awfulness but it was surprisingly okay. Boredom in hospital = much eating just to pass the time. Downer. Not enough tea though. I require pretty much perpetual chai. Large flask delivery from Mum & Dad tomorrow will hopefully fix this. Yawn. Boring detail. Soz, man. Onward! 

Because we haven’t seen him for a while.

 
15:00 or thereabouts. One hour steroid infusion. Another antiviral tablet. Paracetamol and antihistamine. To ward off possible side effects. Steroids give you an unpleasant metallic taste in your mouth. Plus you can’t sleep. Hence this (it’s past midnight, sister!) and why steroidal muscle men are so angry. 

Wait an hour. 

Lemtrada infusion! Why we’re all goddamn here. Takes four hours. Blood pressure, pulse, temperature taken every fifteen minutes by me, surprise and very very very welcome visitor D, a nurse. D told off for sitting on the bed. Even though he basically weighs that same as an averagely sized bird’s nest. Theoretically. 

It was fine. 

Side effects usually manifest themselves on days three or four. Rashes. Itching. Stamped on by antihistamine ‘boot’ easily and rapidly. Not too worried. Naïveté? Hubris? We’ll see, innit.  

So. All in all. At and well after the actual literal end of the day. All’s good. 

Goodnight x

Leave a Reply

