Crusty bread and baked Camembert. 

Uncategorized

Let’s just take a moment to reflect on the deliciousness of this meal.  

 I could, quite literally, eat only this every day right up to when I die. 

Death by melty cheese. Heaven. 

Except. Except. I’ve been led on to the long and twisty path that is ‘diets that may, not cure, but maybe, sort of cure, MS’. 

None of them are medically proven, by the way, but anything that might help…yeah?

So, there’s a whole multitude of options out there, for your delectation:

  • The Swank diet which limits the amount of fat you can eat; no more than 15g of saturated fat a day, but when it comes to white fish – fill your boots!
  • George Jelinek’s Overcoming MS programme: this is similar to the Swank diet but involves exercise, meditation and vitamin D. 
  • The Best Bet Diet includes 18 different supplements and requires that you cut out dairy, grains and red meat. 
  • The Paleo Diet sounds fun because it means eating like a caveman, which doesn’t, to my disappointment, mean channelling Katniss Everdeen and mastering the bow and arrow. Alas. No, it means eating only the foods that a caveman would have had access to. The idea is that these are the kinds of foods our bodies are best adapted to eating. This includes meats, fish, nuts, vegetables and fruit, but excludes dairy, grains, pulses, potatoes and processed food. Disclosure: I nicked that italicised last bit from the MS Society’s website. I’m sure they wouldn’t mind.  

    Some cavemen, yesterday.

     

I mostly follow the Swank diet but also pick and choose bits from other ones that are out there. In existence. 

What this means is that I’ve cut out dairy and, for the first year, red meat. At home, D and I have a mostly vegan diet. I’ve been following it for well over a year now so can have a limited amount of red meat. I know, I know. I should give up all meat entirely. For both ethical and environmental reasons. I don’t eat it often, but sometimes the temptation of a bloody, juicy, tender steak.. I know. 

At the end of last year I cut out gluten as well. It’s alright. 

But the thought of a silky, pillowy pasta handkerchief in a glossy buttery garlicky sauce. Oh my. Or the aforementioned crusty bread and baked Camembert…

I dunno if any of this is helping but, you know, “Returning were as tedious as go o’er.” (I have a tendency for hyperbole).  

Aside: excited about Fassbender Macbeth.

 
One of the issues I have with all this, is how expensive it is. The ‘free-from’ market appears to be booming but, seriously, the cost man.

A list of my preferred free-froms:

  • Rude Health almond drink: excellent milk substitute, I love it. Far superior to other almond ‘milk’ brands too. Creamy and sweet. Yum. Only stocked by Sainsbury’s though. 
  • Genius triple seeded sandwich bread: not as good as the real thing but definitely adequate. Better than other gluten-free breads out there. 
  • Eat Natural cereals: any of them. Delicious. 
  • Pure Sunflower Spread
  • Nakd Bars: I’m addicted to the Cashew Cookie ones. 
  • Booja-Booja chocolates: a new discovery thanks to my fabulous cousin, G. Seriously good. The champagne truffles? Perfect. 

I’m trying to do more of the day-to-day cooking at the moment; it’s usually D’s ‘job’ – he’s pretty great at it. So last night I made a hugely straightforward pasta sauce. ‘Twas pretty tasty. It’s so simple it’s almost insulting to provide a recipe, but…hey ho. 

An Insultingly Simple but Yummy Pasta Sauce. 

  1. Roast as many tomatoes as you think you may need in olive oil, a dash of balsamic viniger, salt and pepper at around Gas Mark 6 (or whatever the equivalent is) for around half an hour. I used about 15 cherry tomatoes to make enough for two of us. 
  2. Finely slice a garlic clove and add to the tomatoes after they’ve been roasting for around 10-15 minutes. I added some dried thyme as well. 
  3. Boil your pasta! I used some gluten-free penne. 
  4. Whizz up your tomatoes in a blender. 
  5. Pour over your cooked pasta and stir it all in! Add some black olives if that’s your thing. As many as you want. I chopped them in half but, in retrospect, idk why. They would’ve been fine whole. 
  6. A bit more salt’n’pepper (uh, push it!) if you feel like it. 
  7. Et voilà! A tasty weeknight tea!

 Fin. 

Leave a Reply

